New s2000.com Member Area / Introductions Are you new to S2000.com? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Looking at S-2000

Old 05-28-2010, 06:48 PM

Looking at S-2000

I have NO knowledge about the S-2000. One came into the dealership I work at as a trade-in. It looks good, Honda quality, as far as I know is pretty good. I'm looking for a "sporty" car and this one looks pretty cool. I've been in automotive service for WAY too many years and owned and worked on everything from 40 horse beetles to Ferraris. I've raced and maintained Formula Fords for ten years, so I'd like to think I'm fairly tuned in to the mechanical side of things. I'm looking for thoughts from owners on reliability/problems/performance... things to look out for... The one I'm considering is a 2003 with 43k on it. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-28-2010, 07:10 PM
8 Hours NE of the Dragon

First, it's a Honda. Second, it's a Honda. (did I mention it's a Honda?). All of the reliability of Honda is built in. It's a extremely sharp handling, finely tuned, sports car that will put a smile on your face from the first time you start it up and put it in first gear until you finally get home after driving aimlessly just to be driving all day. Problems are few and far between, fun is constant. The S2000 is a limited production sports car with none of the sports car drawbacks. No $600 oil changes, no $400 spark plugs, just limitless fun. If you've done all those car things, you have nothing to worry about. Actually, you're probably over-qualified to own a S2000 .
Old 05-28-2010, 07:18 PM

What, me worry?

Thanks for the quick response. I'm working on a tight timeline. Dealer is doing a BIG sale this weekend. Have to move fast if I want this car. Any common problems with this car I need to be aware of?
Old 05-28-2010, 07:43 PM
Got S2000?