Java's Just Drivin' A place to talk about the joys of driving the S2000

Salt Flats

Old 11-11-2010, 08:16 AM

Salt Flats

Living in Salt Lake City you would think I have visited the Bonneville Salt flats many times and gone to the speed trials. Actually not. The trials are pretty hard core and crowds are not what is wanted during the speed runs. For years I drove through the flats on my way to other places. One day though, several years ago when I still worked for a living and drove a company car (Buick Century) I go a wild hair and took the off ramp to the tourist overlook. In all the years of driving past it I had never been there. I found eight or ten cars in a parking lot raised about five feet above the salt with various tourists gazing at the endless white expanse. There were no cars out on the salt but I could see where many tracks were laid down going out from the parking area. On an impulse I decided to try my luck, so I floored the accelerator and launched the Buick onto the salt as the tourist stood there with their jaws dropped open.

It's amazing how versatile a company car can be. Once out on the salt I put the pedal to the metal and got up to about 105 mph. You'd think a Buick Century could do more than that but the surface out there is actually slower than pavement: the only advantage for speed is just the endlessness of the flats with no dangerous barriers. Before long I saw a black Chevy Blazer on the horizon coming toward me. Shortly after that I noticed another identical Blazer approaching from my left. Well, I'm no right wing paranoid nut but you have to wonder what the #%#@'s going on. What's next, a black helicopter? I slowed down and a guy in one of the Blazers waved me to stop. I rolled to a stop and he pulled beside my car and asked me what I was doing out there.