Black Box Dash cam coming.

Old 11-12-2012, 12:51 AM

Black Box Dash cam coming.

I just ordered a black box dash cam with rear facing camera input. The purpose of it is for ongoing constant recording in case of altercations on the road. Secondary usage will be footage of canyon drives.

While I've been considering something like this for several months and I first started poking around a bit back in May, if I'm completely honest, then I have to admit that I am pulling the trigger now more for reasons of the "witness" aspect of the camera. A second set of eyes and some audio recording isn't a bad idea in the event of an accident or even when getting pulled over for a supposed moving violation.

Shipping may take as much as 8 weeks, but I'm hoping for less.

This is the unit I ordered based on some web reviews I found:

Amazon Amazon

Old 11-12-2012, 05:53 AM
THE STIG

Nice! Let us know how you like it when you get it.
Old 11-12-2012, 10:13 AM
House of CR.

RM, where are you planning on mounting the main unit itself? Where are you considering mounting the rear video receiver without drawing attention to itself, or is so small as to be barely noticeable?

Last edited by Vanishing Point; 11-12-2012 at 10:18 AM.
Old 11-12-2012, 10:51 AM

What you see above is the main unit. It can mount directly behind the rearview mirror so as to be unobtrusive. That is the brains of the unit and the front facing camera. It's quite small. I'm going to try it first with the low profile suction cup mount to decide if I will then use the adhesive backed mount later.

The rear facing camera will eventually end up at the license plate like most rear cameras. For purposes of trying it out though, it will probably be on the wind deflector temporarily. Once I'm certain its a keeper in the S, then I'll route the cables properly through the trunk and to the rear plate.