Door Speaker Failure - 3rd Time

Old 12-06-2010, 06:33 AM

Door Speaker Failure - 3rd Time

I have the following components installed on my MY07...

MTX TA3404 4-channel amp 50x4 @ 4ohms
MTX TX6001 6.5 door separates & tweeters
MTX TX5001 5.25 SPOD separates
Pioneer DEHP4900IB receiver
Modifry DCI

The system was installed in January 2008 by a very reputable shop here in Sacramento. They have done over 80 S2K installs over the years, so they would appear to know the car well. PROBLEM... the door 6.5" speakers have failed now for the 3rd time, in just less than 3 years. The 1st failure was after 6 months, the 2nd 9 months after that (April 09) and finally again this past week.

After the first 2 failures the shop just replaced the speakers. They tested the crossovers and said they were fine, and could find nothing wrong with the system. I'm bringing it back this week, but I'm not an expert in audio so I have no idea. In doing some searches here, I did find references to the original baskets and/or aftermarket shields used to prevent water damage. I recall that this shop used neither when installing these components. Could there be water damage causing them to short out? What is the consensus on using some type of protection like the baskets or shields?

My car is a 50% daily driver with lots of weekends and 3-4 track days per year tossed in, with about 35K miles. My music tastes are 50% classical/50% 60's-70's... not a lot of bass. Thanks for your thoughts/comments.

Ron

Last edited by mattsdad; 12-06-2010 at 06:34 AM. Reason: misspell
Old 12-06-2010, 07:23 AM
Seņor Member

Did your speakers fail by going totally dead or by blowing the diaphragm and then sounding buzzy/ garbled? Speaker failures are chronic in the S but I've mostly heard about blown stock speakers. My second hand '05 arrived with both door midrange blown. Replaced with Polk Audio and no problems since.

Does your car sit out a lot?
Old 12-06-2010, 07:57 AM