Boosted EMS and ITB/tranny question noob

Old 04-18-2008, 01:01 AM

Boosted EMS and ITB/tranny question noob

Hi guys,
I am new to this whole S2k Scene I am currently on the way to owning a 2001 AP1 s2k with high millage. I am interested in boosting this car but there were a few questions that I had along the way.

First off i am not new to the car scene, My Previous cars include a 94 Supra T66 single 6spd, 944 turbo, turbo Spec V, turbo 325 and my father used to own a b18c1 swapped civic, but thats not really relivent.

But anyways I was wondering what engine management systems people commonly use. Megasquirt was a simple cheap DIY type of engine management which was common in the bmw scene however it doesn't seem very fitting for the vtec f20c. I have thought about AEM ems but I remember the horrid nightmares i had with it on the supra. So i would like not to turn to that unless absolutely necessary. I hear people using the greddy e manage, Is any one using that here? Also how are your experiences with that particular set up?

Now this is kind of going out on a Limb but i want to run a ITB set up with a turbo set up for added response. ITBs for one are a pain in the *** to tune i hear on boosted applications but i hear the results are worth it. So now Has any ran Emanage with ITBS or FI or even both would be great.

My final question which I cannot find anywhere. How much does the stock s2k tranny and diff hold? Will it be able to take the thrashing the turbo motor will produce? I know in my supra i didnt have problems with the v160 getrag because we had people pushing over 1000whp on those trannies stock. However i have never heard anything about the stock s2k tranny or the s2k rear end. I hear that the rear end is rather weak, what are replacement options?

any input would be greatly appreciated!
thanks for your time guys!
Jason
Old 04-18-2008, 06:52 AM
Banned for Life

Originally Posted by Xuracing View Post
Hi guys,